1. K-State home
  2. »College of Education
  3. »Academic Programs
  4. »Master of Arts in Teaching
  5. »Frequently Asked Questions

College of Education

Frequently Asked Questions

Textbooks

Students can access textbook and related course materials from links provided in KSIS and the K-State Course Schedule. Information provided includes the name of the book, author, ISBN number, and associated costs.


Advisor and Program of Study

Every master’s degree student must file a Program of Study (POS) with the Graduate School, which is a formal list of the courses the student intends to take to fulfill the requirements of the degree. The Program of Study should consist solely of courses directly related to the master’s degree. MAT students must file their POS prior to beginning the program.

To initiate the process of preparing the Program of Study, students are to contact Shelly Houser (shouser@k-state.edu or 785-532-5904) who will assist with the process. After the POS is complete, the advisor and program committee members will sign the form. The head of the academic unit must then endorse the Program of Study and forward it to the Dean of the Graduate School.


Grades

Graduate work is graded A, B, C, D, F, credit/no-credit, pass/fail, incomplete, or withdrawn. For graduate credit, the grade in a course must be C or higher. To remain in good standing, a student must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Grades are not mailed. Final grade reports are viewed and printed in KSIS.

Points of Contact


Master of Arts in Teaching Program

Dr. Thomas S. Vontz
Professor and Director
203 Bluemont Hall
785-532-5927
tvontz@k-state.edu


Curriculum and Instruction Graduate Programs

Dr. Kay Ann Taylor
Associate Professor and 
Graduate Program Coordinator
228 Bluemont Hall
785-532-6974
ktaylor@k-state.edu


College of Education
Field Experiences

Dr. David Allen
Associate Professor and
Director, Office of Field Experiences
246 Bluemont Hall
785-532-6999
dallen@k-state.edu


Department of Curriculum
and Instruction

Dr. F. Todd Goodson
Associate Professor and
Department Chair
261 Bluemont Hall
785-532-5904
tgoodson@k-state.edu


Global Campus Program

Rosemary Boggs
College of Education
Academic Program Coordinator
785-532-5724
rboggs@k-state.edu


K-State Global Campus

1615 Anderson Avenue
Manhattan, KS 66502
785-532-5575
1-800-622-2578 (toll free)
global@k-state.edu


Kansas State University
Graduate School

103 Fairchild Hall
785-532-6191
800-651-1816 (toll free)
grad@k-state.edu