About KELI



Learning for District & Building Leaders

Mentoring/Induction Services for Kansas Educational Leaders

Previous Deep Learning Opportunities

Publication and Resource Center


Request for Mentoring Information


KELI governance is provided with assistance from two groups representative of the partner organizations
and Kansas school districts and school buildings.

Steering Committee

The KELI Steering Committee assists the Executive Director with strategic planning, development and articulation of vision, selection of program offerings and procedures and process to implement Institute programs. The committee also coordinates the sharing of partnership resources and assists in collaboration between the Instutute and its partners. The Steering Committee is made up of two KSU representatives appointed by the Dean of Education; one representative appointed by each of the other partners (KASB, KSDE, KSSA and USA); two members elected at large from the Advisory Council; and the Director as ex-officio (non-voting) facilitator.

Steering Committee Membership

KELI Steering Committee

KELI Steering Committee meets for the first time to elect chair and discuss the bylaws.
Pictured: Dr. Debbie Mercer, Pam Coleman, Jacque Feist, Dr. David Thompson, Doug Moeckel, Dr. Mary Devin

Advisory Council

The KELI Advisory Council provides recommendations to the Steering Committee and the Executive Director, and participates in two-way dialogue regarding vision, priorities, implementation, sharing of resources, and effectiveness of programming. The Advisory Council is made up of two representatives each from KASB, KSDE, and KSU; six KSSA appointments (superintendent members representing district leadership in small, medium, large, rural, and urban settings); three USA appointments (principal members representing elementary, middle/junior high and high school levels); one at large (a connection with the Kansas Leadership Center); and the Director as ex-officio (non-voting) facilitatior.

Advisory Council Membership

KELI Advisory Council photo

KELI Advisory Council Meeting with Curt Herrman, Donna Augustine-Shaw, Nancy Kiltz, Jeff Zacharakis, Jim Porter,
Rod Garman, and Mary Devin