College Governance

The College's general faculty assembly meets once a month through the academic year. When faculty assembly meetings are held via Zoom, the Meeting ID and Password will be provided to faculty one week prior to scheduled meeting. Additionally, you will receive procedures for Zoom participation and electronic voting on College business matters.

The College of Education Faculty Assembly meetings are scheduled for the 4th Tuesday of each month at 8:30 a.m. (in-person), BH021. If the university changes the protocol for gathering size limits for on-campus meetings, then the location and format of COE meetings are subject to adjust accordingly. Listed below are the dates for Faculty Assembly meetings.

September 26, 2023 January 23, 2024
October 24, 2023 February 27, 2024
November 28, 2023 (if needed) March 26, 2024
April 9, 2024
May 7, 2024 (if needed)

The Executive Committee meets the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 8:30 a.m., BH368. The dates of these meetings are listed below.

September 12, 2023 January 19, 2024 (if needed)
October 10, 2023 February 13, 2024
November 14, 2023 March 5, 2024 (due to Spring Break timing)
December 12, 2023 (if needed) April 9, 2024
May 7, 2024 (if needed)

The Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, and Technology Committees of the College meet on the lst Thursday of each month at 8:30 am. The Diversity for Community Committee meets on the 1st Thursday of each month at 9:30 am. Faculty Affairs Committee meets on the 1st Thursday of each month at 3:30 pm. Following are the dates of these meetings.

September 7, 2023 February 1, 2024
October 5, 2023
February 29, 2024 (due to Spring Break timing)
November 2, 2023 April 4, 2024
December 7, 2023 (if needed) May 2, 2024


Departmental Faculty Meetings are scheduled to meet on the 3rd Thursday of each month. Please check with your department chair for specific details.

  • Executive Committee (Kimberly Staples, Chair) (
  • Academic Affairs Committee (Brad Burenheide, Chair) (
  • Student Affairs Committee (Lotta Larson, Chair) (
  • Faculty Affairs Committee (Vicki Sherbert, Chair) (
  • Diversity for Community (Robert Hachiya, Co-Chair) (
  • Technology Committee (Suzanne Porath, Chair) (

Standing Committees

There are five standing committees composed of representatives from each department, one representative from the Center for Student and Professional Services, one undergraduate student representative, and one graduate representative.